An Editorial Strategist: Transforming Creative Ideas into Sustainable Newsletters

Amanda Hinton | editorial strategist | publisher of The Editing Spectrum

What’s an Editorial Strategist?

As an editorial strategist, I help DIY writers transform scattered ideas into cohesive, growth-oriented newsletters through my newsletter, The Editing Spectrum. My approach blends creativity with business-informed strategies, giving you the tools to grow your newsletter in a sustainable, intentional way.

Bringing Structure to Creative Chaos

Many DIY writers struggle to organize their creative ideas into something actionable. I help take that creative chaos and turn it into a clear plan—whether it’s refining a writing plan or developing a publishing strategy that keeps readers engaged. My newsletter offers practical, accessible editorial strategies to help you build a thriving, well-structured newsletter without losing your creative spark.

Data-Driven and Business-Informed Strategies

Through The Editing Spectrum, I provide DIY writers with strategies rooted in data and business insights. By analyzing reader behavior and engagement patterns, I guide writers in making decisions that grow their newsletter while staying true to their vision. My focus is on helping you make smart, informed choices that lead to long-term success.

Ready to grow your newsletter with expert strategies? Upgrade to get started on the Editorial Launch Pad (made just for DIY Writers on Substack)!

Leveraging Entrepreneurial Experience

Behind the scenes, I work one-on-one with creative entrepreneurs who are ready for deeper, more tailored support. Drawing on nearly 20 years of experience in B2B communications, self-publishing and content strategy, I offer editorial audits and in-depth analysis to help entrepreneurs scale their newsletters. This personalized approach includes everything from refining writing and structuring editorial calendars to business-savvy strategies for growing reader engagement and monetization.

My bespoke newsletter strategies are available to you. I invite you to learn more about my writing plan makeover, pricing gut check, reader connection boost and more.

Newsletter Strategies This Way